Indexing Can Be Fun!

Standard

Indexing is typing information from old record sheets into your computer.  After you finish a batch of names you submit it to familysearch.org.  There are a lot of records that need to be entered so they need a lot of help.  This is important because people want to know about their ancestors.  So far I have done 19 names.  Mostly they were records of people arriving on a ship.  Some were hard to read.  It was harder than I thought it would be because the first example was very easy to read.  I want to do indexing because if I can get 50 names done my mom will take me to Starbucks for a hot chocolate.  I also want to do it because it helps people find their ancestors.  My goal is to do a batch every week.  I think it is fun when you finish a batch and can push “submit”.  I am also excited when I submit a batch because I know I am getting closer to my reward!  I feel awesome when I do it.  As you can see I am working very hard on indexing.  – Gracie

One response »

Leave a comment